Thor beginner question and connection

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Hi,

First of all, I’d like to apologize for my bad english as it is not my native language.

I’m Tim Beckers and I’m in my final year of industrial engineering studies in Belgium. For my internship/final work, I’ll need to realize a robotic arm, modelize it and make it move in virtual reality as well as in real time. The arm will need to be controlled with using the HTC Vive pro hand controller. The goal of this project is to demonstrate the feasability of such thing which can maybe be use in the future to do manual task at distance. If someone want more information about this, I’ll be glad to explain it more in depth.
    So, as my internship begin in February, I started to make some research about which robotic arm should I try to build and found this amazing project. I presented it to the startup whom I’ll work for and they were satisfied by the look of this. However they had some reservations about the quality that we could achieve with a budget printer (Creality ender 3 or Anycubic i3 mega). As I’m kind of new with 3D printing I can’t tell for sure but I think it’ll be alright, what are your opinion about this ? Considering that it’s just to show the principle, so we don’t need extreme accuracy.

Also, I’ve some question about the communication. I saw that the Thor is commended directly by giving him the different position via a serial communication. So I guess that it’s possible to implement a bluetooth module and transmit the command from the controller ? Does anyone know if it’s possible or not ? And also, I’d like to know if the communication for the movement are in real time or if the arm has to be programmed to do a certain sequence ?

Once again, sorry for my bad spelling.

Thanks in advance for your response,

Beckers Tim

</p

Angel LM
    Admin

Hi Tim!
      First of all sorry for the late reply, I didn’t receive the notification of this group…