Regarding GRBL

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Hi ,

I am a graduate student and we are working on the THOR project. We have few difficulties which we thought you might be able to help us out with. ;

We’re not quite sure about how to utilize the code that is supplied under the “grbl” file. How would we upload it onto the Arduino (we have a Mega) and edit it? We read the instructions and the wiki but it is still not clear to us.

We’re excited to get the robot assembled and running! Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to respond to all our questions.

Regards,
    Pratik Chaudhari</blockquote

Angel LM
    Admin

Hi Pratik!

If you want to use the same firmware I’m using you have to compile the firmware first. How to do it:

And then you have to upload the .hex file into your Arduino Mega. How to do it:

That’s it!

If you want to modify the code, first modify it using your favorite text editor then compile it and then upload it to the board 😉

Hope it helps!

Angel LM

I’m also writing here in case anyone else has a similar question. Getting the grbl on the Arduino was easy following those steps, so thank you. So what happens after that? How do we get the motors to move? I downloaded the Universal GCode sender and ran the test.gcode that is included in the grbl file you supplied but nothing really happened. Should the motors be moving when we press the X+ or X- buttons for example?
      Sorry to keep bothering you with simple questions, but once we pass that hurdle, we should be able to put everything together! So close!

Angel LM
      Admin

Hi Burcu!

I wrote this new page (GRBL & Gcode Control) at Thor’s wiki where is explained how to use the Gcodes to control the Thor motors!
        Do not hesitate on asking if you have more questions! 😉

Angel LM

Hi ;Ángel,