Making Thor Fail

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    RobotArmature
    Participant

Hi,

I’m a university student in NZ doing a thesis on a new type of 3D-printed polymer and my partner and we are looking at the Thor arm as a test subject. To do this we’ll be focusing on material testing and were wondering how and where the thor bot typically fails mechanically.
      A large portion of the robot’s bulk appears to be in the first and second arm sections, with a much smaller third arm. Which of these arms fails firsts and are they all fairly equal in strength?

Zac.

• This topic was modified 10 months, 3 weeks ago by Angel LM. Reason: Moved to Get Help > Others category
      Angel LM
      Admin

Hi Zac!

First of all, thanks for your interest in this project! I am very happy that after years, this robot is still being studied 🙂

To answer your question, indeed, in terms of load support, joint 2 is the one that has to support the most, followed by joint 3.

In terms of mechanical failures, the most sensitive parts and the ones that have ever broken are the gears that attach directly to the motor shaft. They are sensitive for two reasons, the first being temperature: Motors get hot during robot operation, and as the printed parts are in direct contact with the motor, they can reach temperatures high enough that they become malleable and deform due to the combination of stress and heat. That is why for all small parts that are in direct contact with the motors it is recommended to print them in ABS.
        The second reason is the force that the gear teeth have to withstand. As they are small parts and are printed, due to the force they are supporting, if the layers are not well bonded to each other, they can break.